Previous Years

2020 2019 2018 2017

2017 Club Shoots


2017 NL Provincial Trapshooting Championships

The 2017 Newfoundland and Labrador Trapshooting Championships were held at the St. John’s Rod and Gun Club July 15-16, 2017. Shooters from across the province participated in the 400 target Amateur Trapshooting Association sanctioned event and competed for the provincial Singles, Doubles and Handicap titles.

Shoot Highlights:

- Andrea Bassan and Troy Coldwell tied for the NF Sportsman Singles Championships with scores of 195/200.
- Bassan edges Coldwell in the shootoff with a score of 25/25 to Coldwell’s 24/25.
- Bassan, Coldwell and Robert Mercer competed in the Dave Anstey Champion of Champions event. Bassan and Coldwell agree to be co-Champions after both tallied 49/50 in the 2 round event of previous provincial Singles Champions.
- Nina Chandler shoots her first 25 straight and also claims the NL Lady Singles crown. Shoots a personal best score of 173/200 in ATA registered Singles shooting.
- Paul “OMB” Bailey shoots a personal best (186/200) at the age of 84 to claim the NL Veteran Trophy over fellow veteran shooters Derm Molloy and Robert Mercer.
- The St. John’s Rod and Gun Club 5-Man Team of Bassan, Coldwell, Paul Bailey and the 2 Tuckers brothers – Peter and Johnny claim the 2017 5-Man Team Singles trophy.
- Bassan and Coldwell claim the Singles and Doubles 2 Man Team events.
- Coldwell claims the DU Doubles with a pair of 47/50s for a score of 94/100.
- Peter Tucker and Ray Snow tie for top score in the Pat Wall Handicap with scores of 89/100. Tucker runs a perfect round from the 20 yard line to claim top honors over Snow’s 21/25.

Full Results

Ladies Champ 

Nina Chandler: Lady Champion
Photo Credit: Kevin Healey

OMB Senior Champ

Paul "OMB"  Bailey: Senior Champion.
Photo Credit: Kevin Healey

May 13, 2017 Petitcodiac Sportsman's Club Invitational Trap Shoot

Report By: Andrea Bassan

The Petitcodiac Sportsman's Club hosted their first ATA Registered Shoot on Saturday May 13, 2017. PSC Shotgun Committee Chair Ron Whitehead reports that the shoot went well with a total of  20 shooters being treated to great weather and great food. The field of competitors included 15 ATA shooters and 5 non-ATA shooters with awards determined using the Lewis Class System. Whitehead acknowledged the participation of shooters from the Fredericton Trap & Skeet Club and the Moncton Gun Club and thanks them for making the shoot a success.

Whitehead has been a driving force behind trapshooting at the Petitcodiac Sportsman's Club and feels that trapshooting in New Brunswick is making a comeback. Shoot results:

Shooter Award
Brian Pettipas Champion
Ron Whitehead A Class Champion
Jack Nicolle A Class RU
Dan Boudreau B Class Champion
Dave Dixon B Class RU
Tom Nowlan C Class Champion
Trevor Gracie C Class RU
Larry Kinden D Class Champion
Gerrit van Raalte D Class RU













© Atlantic Provinces Trapshooting Association 2018